03 augustus 2013

Monster Magnet nog een keer op patrouille

Geschreven door: Richard Verbrugge

Op 15 oktober verschijnt het nieuwe album van Monster Magnet. Het kwintet rondom de prettig gestoorde zanger Dave Wyndorf koos ditmaal Last Patrol als titel. Wyndorf produceerde het album zelf met hulp van Phil Caivano. De laatste albums van Monster Magnet waren redelijk, maar niet bepaald wereldschokkend. Hopelijk halen ze het niveau van Dopes To Infinity en Power Trip op Last Patrol.

Dave Wyndorf zei het volgende over het album: “Last Patrol is a return to our roots in terms of vibe and recording style. It’s full-on psychedelic space-rock with a ’60s garage feel, recorded almost exclusively with vintage guitars, amps and effects in our hometown of Red Bank, New Jersey. The songs are a kind of space-noir, tales of cosmic revenge, peaking libidos, alienation and epic strangeness. It’s a weird trip through the back alleys of a dark, retro-future, which not by coincidence very much resembles my own life. The lyrics aren’t fantasy really, rather a recounting of my musings on, observations of and general emotional reaction to my life and environment during a 1 week writing period in February of 2013. But I tend to use the vernacular and imagery of science fiction and surrealism to express myself and that’s where these lyrics get trippy. There’s also our cover version of Donovan’s ‘Three Kingfishers’, which I thought fit the mood of the album.”

Vanzelfsprekend gaat Monster Magnet binnenkort op tournee op het album te promoten. Op zaterdagavond 3 augustus staat de band in 013 in Tilburg, op 8 augustus speelt de band in het Patronaat in Haarlem.

Tracklisting Last Patrol:

  1. I Live Behind The Clouds
  2. Last Patrol
  3. Three King Fishers
  4. Paradise
  5. Hallelujah
  6. Mindless Ones
  7. The Duke
  8. End Of Time
  9. Stay Tuned